• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site
Menu
International workshop

The Varieties of Power in the Economy

Laboratory for Studies in Economic Sociology, National Research University “Higher School of Economics” (NRU HSE), Moscow, Russia

Sociologists tend to see power as a “salient” dimension in economic action (Smelser, Swedberg 2005: 5). The salience of power as a phenomenon makes it one of the more difficult notions for economic sociologists to be incorporated in various conceptual frameworks, especially when explaining how contemporary markets work. Meanwhile, the economies around the world are changing. The dispersion of power practices (in M. Foucault's terms) has grown as the state and large corporate structures have been increasingly delegating more of their rights and responsibilities to various autonomous social entities and technical devices. The visibility of power for both market participants and their researchers diminishes as many forms of dominance and control disappear, while the number of authorities and governance structures in the economy multiplies.

In order to make power practices visible with the help of economic and sociological tools, it is necessary to pay closer attention to different sources of economic power based on resource dependence, on legitimacy, on establishing control over the current agenda and key ideas (Granovetter 2017), and also to better understand the motives for compliance of different actors. At the workshop, we are interested in exploring the relationship between different modes of influence (public and private, global and local, formal and informal); the conditions that create gaps, coincidences and other relations  between the legality and legitimacy; as well as the alternative mechanisms for establishing control over market processes in the context of capitalist dynamics. We also encourage research of power practices coming from a variety of economic spheres, both more historically established (households, rural economy, natural resources economy) and the new, cutting edge areas (digital platforms, transnational supply chains, etc.).

Status of the workshop

The workshop is held by the Laboratory of Studies in Economic Sociology (LSES) at National Research University Higher School of Economics, Moscow. Our goal is to help building and promoting new approaches in economic sociology, and to expand the Laboratory’s international research networks.

At the end of the workshop some participants will be offered an opportunity to publish their papers in an edited collective volume which will be a part to the “Societies and Political Orders in Transition” series supported by Springer Publishing House in 2020–2021. Additionally, some papers may be published within the LSES working paper series “Sociology of Markets.”

We also hope that the workshop will inspire participants to join a network of associated research fellows with the Laboratory for Studies in Economic Sociology at HSE, Moscow.

Working language

The Workshop’s working languages are Russian and English.

Workshop venue

National Research University “Higher School of Economics”, room 518, 11 Myasnitskaya str., Moscow, Russia

Keynote Speakers

Alena Ledeneva, Professor of Politics and Society at the School of Slavonic and East European Studies, University College London, UK  

Valery Yackubovich,Professor at Management Department, SSEC Business School, France

Program Committee

Vadim Radaev (Chair), NRU HSE

Andrey Shevchuk, NRU HSE

Elena Berdysheva, NRU HSE

Zoya Kotelnikova, NRU HSE

Local Organizing Committee (LOC)

Zoya Kotelnikova, NRU HSE

Marina Chernyshova, NRU HSE

Ekaterina Vorobeva, NRU HSE

Information Support

Juliya Belova, NRU HSE

Submission guidelines

We accept original research papers which has not been previously published

To apply, please submit long abstracts (800–1000 words), in Russian or English, through our online submission system by 15th of February, 2020.

Full drafts of the paper are accepted in English only. The deadline to submit full draft of the paper to the same online system is June 15, 2020. The word limit for the paper is between 6000 and 12000 words. Papers should be original and should not contain substantial elements of material that has been published elsewhere. Papers are supposed to meet all the standard requirements of an academic publication. Papers will be available to all the Workshop participants.

Important deadlines

15 February 2020 – deadline for submitting long abstracts

1 March 2020 – we will notify you of the selection results

1 March 2020 – 1 July 2020 - deadline for audience members

Until 30 April 2020 – participants whose papers were accepted, will be offered an opportunity to participate in a series of writing seminars where the drafts can be discussed and improved in a friendly collegial atmosphere

15 June 2020 – deadline for drafts submission 

1 October 2020 – deadline for submitting the revised papers for blind review process and eventual publication

Selection of participants

Participants are selected on the basis of the submitted long abstracts.

Oral presentations

Each participant should present his or her paper and be a discussant.

Each participant will have 10 minutes for oral presentation.

Each session is divided into several parts which include:

- oral presentation 1 (10 minutes)

- oral presentation 2 (10 minutes)

- discussant’s comments (10 minutes)

- general audience participation (20 minutes)

Each block of two papers is followed by a discussant's comments and the general audience participation.

Publications

All the selected papers will be considered for publication in the collective monography in English or in LSES’s working papers in Russian. The LOC is responsible for submitting the proposal to the Springer Publishing House.

Registration and fees

The Workshop does not charge the participants any fees.

All program participants must register by April 30, 2020, to retain their listings in the Final Program.

You may request a visa invitation letter from the LOC. Visa invitation letters cannot be provided until you have registered for the Workshop.

All participants will be provided with workshop materials, coffee breaks, and meals.


Contacts

Workshop’s website: https://ecsoclab.hse.ru/ecsocworkshop/

If you have any questions, please contact Marina Chernyshova ecsoclab@hse.ru

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта
В качестве почетного докладчика в воркшопе примет участие Алена Леденева, профессор в области политики и общества Школы славянских и восточно-европейских исследований Университетского колледжа Лондона (Великобритания). 

10/01/2020

В качестве почетного докладчика в воркшопе примет участие Валерий Якубович, профессор бизнес-школы ESSEC (Франция).

10/01/2020

Международный исследовательский семинар

Разнообразие режимов власти и влияния в хозяйственных отношениях

Власть, в отличие от других основных понятий (культура, социальные сети и институты), выступает, скорее, «молчаливой» категорией экономического действия (Smelser, Swedberg 2005: 5). Ее «молчаливое» присутствие создает ощущение того, что экономсоциологи по-прежнему испытывают трудности при инкорпорировании властных отношений в свои концепции, в особенности при объяснении того, как работают современные рынки. Между тем, в капиталистических хозяйствах происходят важные изменения, в частности нарастает дисперсность властных практик (в терминах М. Фуко), полномочия и ответственность государством и крупными корпоративными структурами все более делегируются разным автономным социальным образованиям и техническим устройствам. Многие формы влияния и контроля исчезают из непосредственного поля зрения и участников рынка, и его исследователей. Возникает задача изучения разнообразных режимов влияния и структур управления в хозяйстве.
Для того чтобы при помощи экономико-социологических инструментов сделать властные практики видимыми,необходимо обратить более пристальное внимание на разные источники хозяйственной власти (власть, основанная на ресурсной зависимости, на легитимности, на установлении контроля над текущей повесткой и ключевыми идеями (Granovetter 2017)), а также лучше понимать мотивы повиновения (compliance) разных акторов. Нас интересует соотношение различных режимов влияния (публичных и частных, глобальных и локальных, формальных и неформальных); условия возникновения разрывов, совпадений и прочих отношений между легальностью и легитимностью; а также поиск альтернативных механизмов установления контроля над рыночными процессами в условиях динамики капитализма. При этом в изучении разнообразных властных практик мы обращаемся различным экономическим сферам: как к традиционным (домашнее хозяйство, аграрное хозяйство, экономика природных ресурсов), так и к новым, передовым (цифровые платформы, транснациональные цепи поставок и пр.).

Статус семинара

Лаборатория экономико-социологических исследований Национального исследовательского университета «Высшая школа экономики» планирует провести открытый исследовательский семинар.

Цели семинара

Экспертная встреча проводится для проработки теоретических вопросов, которые поспособствуют развитию новой экономической социологии и посодействуют Лаборатории экономико-социологических исследований в продвижении в международной академической среде.

По результатам данного семинара предполагается издание англоязычной коллективной монографии, опубликованной в рамках серии Societies and political orders in Transition международного издательства Springer в 2020-2021 гг. Также планируется публикация русскоязычного препринта серии «Социология рынков» ЛЭСИ.

Программный комитет

Вадим Радаев, председатель программного комитета

Андрей Шевчук
Елена Бердышева
Зоя Котельникова

Организационная комиссия

Зоя Котельникова
Марина Чернышева
Екатерина Воробьева

Информационная поддержка

Юлия Белова

В рамках этого семинара дополнительно планируется провести работу по созданию формальной сети ассоциированных сотрудников ЛЭСИ.

Подача заявок на участие

Организаторы приглашают авторов подать индивидуальные и написанные в соавторстве оригинальные работы.

Заявки принимаются посредством онлайн-платформы.

Объем расширенных аннотаций должен быть 800–1000 слов (на русском или английском языках).

Объем полных статей должен варьироваться от 6000 до 12000 слов. Статьи должны быть написаны на английском языке, содержать оригинальные результаты эмпирического исследования и оформлены в соответствии с академическими стандартами. Статьи, которые были частично или полностью опубликованы ранее, к семинару не допускаются. У всех участников семинара будет свободный доступ ко всем статьям.

Отбор участников

Отбор участников семинара осуществляется организаторами на основе поданных расширенных аннотаций докладов.

Презентации докладов

Каждый участник семинара выступит в двух ипостасях – в роли докладчика и в роли дискуссанта.

У каждого докладчика будет 10 минут для устного выступления.

Сессии организуются небольшими сетами, каждый из которых включает:

- презентация докладчика 1 (10 мин)

- презентация докладчика 2 (10 мин)

- выступление дискуссанта (10 мин)

- групповое обсуждение докладов (20 мин)

Дискуссант выступает с обсуждением сразу двух докладов. Для его выступления отводится 10 минут. Вопросы и групповое обсуждение докладов предполагается в конце каждого сета сессии.

Публикации

Все отобранные для семинара работы будут рассмотрены для публикации либо в коллективной монографии на английском языке, либо в серии препринтов серии «Социология рынков» (на русском или английском языке – по желанию авторов). Организаторы семинара возьмут на себя обязательства по подготовке соответствующей заявки на публикацию коллективной монографии в международном издательстве Springer.

Регистрация и оргвзнос

Участие в данном семинаре является бесплатным. Оплата оргвзноса не предполагается.

Все участники, доклады которых были отобраны, обязаны окончательно подтвердить свое участие до 30 апреля 2020 г.

При необходимости организаторы семинара окажут визовую поддержку.

Программа мероприятия

День1
Пятница, 3 июля
Мясницкая, 20
9.00 – 9.30
Регистрация
9-30 – 11-30
Приветственное слово и первый почетный доклад
12-00 – 14-00
Сессия 1
15-30 – 18-00
Сессия 2
18-00 – 19-00
Сессия 3
19.30
Культурная программа
День2
Суббота, 4 июля
Мясницкая, 20
9-30 – 11-30
Второй почетный доклад
12-00 – 14-00
Сессия 4
15-30 – 18-00
Сессия 5
18-00 – 19-00
Сессия 6
19-30
Закрытие конференции и культурная программа